Agenda
Plenary Sessions
The Digital Lab
The Connected Lab
The Innovation Lab
Round Tables
13:30
Keynote Addresses: Redefining the Lab to Meet the Challenges of Modern Life Science Research
Plenary Sessions
13:30 BST
Start time: 07:30 CDT | 08:30 EDT | 13:30 BST | 14:30 CEST |
Hal Stern, VP & CIO, R&D, Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson
Richard Milne, Vice President and General Manager for Digital Science, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Vijay Raju, Global Head of Analytical R&D, Novartis

The Lab of the Future: Developing Data Flow Driven Systems to Improve the Efficiency & Effectiveness of Innovation
Hal Stern, VP & CIO, R&D, Janssen

From Strategy to Action: How to Accelerate Digital Transformation
Richard Milne, Vice President and General Manager for Digital Science, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Vijay Raju, Global Head of Analytical R&D, Novartis

 

14:35
The Digital Lab Track: Advances in Data Science that Drive Innovation in the Lab
The Digital Lab
14:35 BST
Start time: 08:35 CDT | 09:35 EDT | 14:35 BST | 15:35 CEST |
Peter Grandsard, Executive Director, Research, Amgen
Haydn Boehm, Head of Commercial Marketing, Connected Lab, Merck Group

From molecule to market with computational and data science
Peter Grandsard, Executive Director Research, Amgen

How FAIR lab data can expedite your Drug Discovery AI Programs
Haydn Boehm, Head of Commercial Marketing, Connected Lab, Merck Group

The Connected Lab Track: Novel Technologies to Improve Automation, Connectivity and Productivity in the Lab
The Connected Lab
14:35 BST
Start time: 08:35 CDT | 09:35 EDT | 14:35 BST | 15:35 CEST |
Joshua Bishop, MRL IT, Digital Lab Lead , MSD
Rob Brown, VP Product Marketing , Dotmatics

How Commodity Technology can make your Instruments Intelligent Partners in Research & Development – Data Streaming and Standardization Services
Joshua Bishop, Associate Director, Digital Laboratory Scientific Support, MSD

Integrating Lab Data Automation and Scientific Informatics Platforms to Facilitate Data-Centric Research
Rob Brown, VP Product Marketing, Dotmatics

The Innovation Lab Track: Bringing the Lab of the Future to Life
The Innovation Lab
14:35 BST
Start time: 08:35 CDT | 09:35 EDT | 14:35 BST | 15:35 CEST |
Mark McCord-Amasis, VP Real Estate and Facilities , Seagen
Ian Tomlinson, Chair, Apollo Therapeutics
David Miller, Discovery Practice Director, BSA Life Structures

Moderator: Ian Tomlinson, Chair, Apollo Therapeutics

Enabling Research Through Lab Design
David Miller, Discovery Practice Director, BSA Life Structures

Lab Workspace Design and Utilization that Drives Creativity and Innovation in Research
Mark McCord-Amasis, VP, Real Estate & Facilities, Seattle Genetics

15:35
Networking Round Tables
Round Tables
15:35 BST
Start time: 09:35 CDT | 10:35 EDT | 15:35 BST | 16:35 CEST |
Moderators,

Delegates are invited to join moderated working groups on the following subjects. Participants will be able to discuss common problems, share experiences and solutions to different elements of an implementation of the Lab of the Future. A camera-on session, the groups are limited to 15 and reserved on a first-come first-served basis.

Round Table 1 – Automation principles

Round Table 2 – FAIR Data implementation

Round Table 3 – Quick connectivity wins

Round Table 4 – Selling change

Round Table 5 – Data and AI fundamentals

16:10
The Digital Lab Track: Delivering Digital Transformation
The Digital Lab
16:10 BST
Start time: 10:10 CDT | 11:10 EDT | 16:10 BST | 17:10 CEST |
Pamela Sepulveda, Director, Digital Strategy, Pfizer
Dennis Della Corte, Chief Science Officer, ZONTAL
Heiner Oberkampf, Head of Data Governance, OSTHUS

Good Data Stewardship as a Driver for Digital Transformation
Pamela Sepulveda, Director, Digital Strategy, Pfizer

From Crude to Power: Refine your Data with a FAIR Data Hub
Dennis Della Corte, Chief Science Officer, ZONTAL

Panel Discussion
Pamela Sepulveda, Director, Digital Strategy, Pfizer

Heiner Oberkampf, Head of Data Governance, OSTHUS

 

 

Research Technologies Underpinning the Lab of the Future
The Connected Lab
16:10 BST
Start time: 10:10 CDT | 11:10 EDT | 16:10 BST | 17:10 CEST |
Szczepan Baran, Head of Emerging Technologies, Novartis
John Conway, Chief Visioneer Officer, 20/15 Visioneers

Reviewing of the Research Technologies in Early Research
John Conway, Chief Visioneer Officer, 20/15 Visioneers

Reimagining and Transforming Preclinical Research through Computer Vision, ML & Extended Reality
Szczepan Baran, Head of Emerging Technologies, Comparative Medicine, Novartis

The Innovation Lab Track: Advancing Innovation through Win-Win Collaborations
The Innovation Lab
16:10 BST
Start time: 10:10 CDT | 11:10 EDT | 16:10 BST | 17:10 CEST |
Tom Hudson, Chief Scientific Officer, AbbVie
Ian Tomlinson, Chair, Apollo Therapeutics

Moderator: Ian Tomlinson, Chair, Apollo Therapeutics

Tom Hudson, Chief Scientific Officer, AbbVie

17:15
The Digital Lab Track: Getting Actionable Insights from your Data
The Digital Lab
17:15 BST
Start time: 11:15 CDT | 12:15 EDT | 17:15 BST | 18:15 CEST |
Joel Dudley, Chief Scientific Officer, Tempus Labs
Laura Williams, Discovery Biology Technology Lead, GSK
Eliot Randle, Managing Partner, Digital Lab Consulting

Moderator: Eliot Randle, Managing Partner, Digital Lab Contulting

A Data-Driven Approach to Drug Discovery & Development
Joel Dudley, Chief Scientific Officer, Tempus Labs

Asking the Right Questions: How GSK Pharma is Linking Data to Knowledge
Laura Williams, Discovery Biology Technology Lead, GSK

The Connected Lab Track: Application of AI in Drug Discovery and Development
The Connected Lab
17:15 BST
Start time: 11:15 CDT | 12:15 EDT | 17:15 BST | 18:15 CEST |
Ross Walker, Global Head of Scientific Computing, GSK
Brian Martin, Head of AI in R&D Information Research, AbbVie
Emir Roach, Global Head of Emerging Technologies and Digital Partnerships, Takeda
John Wise, Consultant, Pistoia Alliance

Moderator: John Wise, Consultant, Pistoia Alliance

Application of ASICs and Quantum Computers in early-stage R&D
Ross Walker, Global Head of Scientific Computing, GSK

Using AI to Unlock the Information that Makes Cures Possible
Brian Martin, Head of AI in R&D Information Research, AbbVie

Panel:
Emir Roach, Global Head of Emerging Technologies and Digital Partnerships, Takeda

The Innovation Lab Track: Sustainability – from the Boardroom to the Lab Bench
The Innovation Lab
17:15 BST
Start time: 11:15 CDT | 12:15 EDT | 17:15 BST | 18:15 CEST |
Rachael Relph, Chief Sustainability Officer, My Green Lab
Ginena Harkins, Associate Director, Safety, Health & Environment, AstraZeneca
Bruce Dembofsky, Director, Innovation and Partnerships, Avantor

Sustainability – from the Boardroom to the Lab Bench
Bruce Dembofsky, Director, Innovation and Partnerships, Avantor

Rachael Relph, Chief Sustainability Officer, My Green Lab

Ginena Harkins, Associate Director, AstraZeneca

18:15
Networking Round Table
Round Tables
18:15 BST
Start time: 12:15 CDT | 13:15 EDT | 18:15 BST | 19:15 CEST |
Moderators,

Delegates are invited to join moderated working groups on the following subjects. Participants will be able to discuss common problems, share experiences and solutions to different elements of an implementation of the Lab of the Future. A camera-on session, the groups are limited to 15 and reserved on a first-come first-served basis.

Round Table 6 – Automation principles

Round Table 7 – FAIR Data implementation

Round Table 8 – Quick connectivity wins

Round Table 9 – Selling change

Round Table 10 – Data and AI fundamentals

18:45
Close of Day 1
Plenary Sessions
18:45 BST
Start time: 12:45 CDT | 13:45 EDT | 18:45 BST | 19:45 CEST |
13:30
Keynote Addresses: The Lab of the Future- Leveraging digital solutions to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of Life Science R&D
Plenary Sessions
13:30 BST
Start time: 07:30 CDT | 08:30 EDT | 13:30 BST | 14:30 CEST |
Mark Borowsky, CIO, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research
Brian Brunner, Managing Director, Accenture Scientific Informatics Services
Jason Bronfeld, Head, Product Development IT, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Digitalisation – Driving Open Science for Next-Generation Therapeutics
Mark Borowski, CIO, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research

Laboratory Digital Innovation is Beholden to History – How to Reimagine the Lab with the Scientist at the Centre
Brian Brunner, Managing Director, Accenture Scientific Informatics Services
Jason Bronfeld, Head, Product Development IT, Bristol-Myers Squibb

14:35
The Digital Lab Track: Liberating Bench Scientists through AI
The Digital Lab
14:35 BST
Start time: 08:35 CDT | 09:35 EDT | 14:35 BST | 15:35 CEST |
Tim Gardner, CEO, Riffyn
Mark Wall, Director, R&D Operations and Site Management, BASF
Andrew Giessel, Associate Director of Data Science and AI, Moderna

Enabling Scientists with AI: How AI Enables Scientists to Focus on their Core Jobs in Drug Development
Andrew Giessel, Associate Director of Data Science and AI, Moderna

 

Digital Transformation = Digital Liberation

Mark Wall, Director, R&D Operations and Site Management, BASF

 

Discussion including

Tim Gardner, CEO, Ryffin

The Connected Lab Track: Novel Technologies to Improve Laboratory Processes and Workflows
The Connected Lab
14:35 BST
Start time: 08:35 CDT | 09:35 EDT | 14:35 BST | 15:35 CEST |
Clark Leininger, Lab Workflow & Data Stewardship Client Partner, Pfizer
Lennart Caspers, Digitalisation Lead, Covestro
Célia Gasselin, , LabTwin

Managing Workflows to Drive Innovation in the Digital Age
Clark Leininger, Client Partner, Lab Data Workflows & Data Stewardship, Pfizer

 

Implementing Voice-Powered Lab Assistants in R&D Labs, a Covestro-LabTwin Case Study

Lennart Caspers, Covestro

Célia Gasselin, LabTwin

The Innovation Lab Track: Collaborative Innovation in Action
The Innovation Lab
14:35 BST
Start time: 08:35 CDT | 09:35 EDT | 14:35 BST | 15:35 CEST |
Lesley Solomon, Senior VP & Chief Innovation Officer, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Steve Rees, Vice-President of the Discovery Biology, AstraZeneca
Ian Tomlinson, Chair, Apollo Therapeutics

Moderator: Ian Tomlinson, Chair, Apollo Therapeutics

Multi-stakeholder Collaboration in Pursuit of Precision Oncology Therapeutics
Lesley Solomon, SVP Innovation, Chief Innovation Officer, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Multiparty Collaboration in Discovery Research
Steve Rees, VP Discovery Biology, AstraZeneca

15:35
Networking Round Tables
Round Tables
15:35 BST
Start time: 09:35 CDT | 10:35 EDT | 15:35 BST | 16:35 CEST |
Moderators,

Delegates are invited to join moderated working groups on the following subjects. Participants will be able to discuss common problems, share experiences and solutions to different elements of an implementation of the Lab of the Future. A camera-on session, the groups are limited to 15 and reserved on a first-come-first-served basis.

 

16:05
The Digital Lab Track: Improving the Reproducibility and Integrity of your Data
The Digital Lab
16:05 BST
Start time: 10:05 CDT | 11:05 EDT | 16:05 BST | 17:05 CEST |
Dana Vanderwall, Director of Biology & Preclinical IT, Bristol-Myers Squibb
Trung Thieu, Associate Scientist V, Downstream Process Department, Alexion Pharmaceuticals
Mike Tarselli, Chief Scientific Officer, TetraScience
Evan Anderson, Solution Architect, TetraScience

Harmonising Data Formats and Interfaces to Improve Productivity in the Lab
Dana Vanderwall, Director, Biology IT, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Ghosts of R&D Data: Past, Present, and Yet to Come
Trung Thiếu,
Associate Scientist V, Downstream Process Department, Alexion Pharmaceuticals

Evan Anderson, Solution Architect, TetraScience

Panel Discussion

including Mike Tarselli, Chief Scientific Officer, TetraScience

 

The Connected Lab Track: Lab Orchestration and Workflow automation
The Connected Lab
16:05 BST
Start time: 10:05 CDT | 11:05 EDT | 16:05 BST | 17:05 CEST |
Sally Madden, Bioinformatics Software Engineer, Genentech
Andrew Anderson, VP, Innovation & Informatics Strategy , ACD/Labs

Data as a First-class Citizen: Moving Toward a Data Mesh and Data Services to put Data at the Centre of the Organization
Sally Madden, Bioinformatics Software Engineer, Genentech

Digital Transformation in HTE and Analysis Laboratories
Andrew Anderson, VP, Innovation & Informatics Strategy, ACD/Labs

 

The Innovation Lab: Collaborative Innovation in Action
The Innovation Lab
16:05 BST
Start time: 10:05 CDT | 11:05 EDT | 16:05 BST | 17:05 CEST |
Kathryn Chapman, Deputy Director, Milner Therapeutics Institute
Joann Rhodes, CEO, Health Innovation Research Alliance Northern Ireland (HIRANI)
Rowan Gardner, Co Founder, PrecisionLife

Facilitator: Rowan Gardner, Co Founder, PrecisionLife

Linking Academic know how with Pharmaceutical Industry Expertise to Deliver Better Therapies to Patients
Kathryn Chapman, Deputy Director, Milner Therapeutics Consortium

The HIRANI Healthcare ecosystem – Driving Innovation in Healthcare through an Alliance of Universities, Health Organisations and Industry
Joann Rhodes, CEO, Health Innovation Research Alliance Northern Ireland (HIRANI)

17:10
The Digital Lab Track: End to End Digitalization
The Digital Lab
17:10 BST
Start time: 11:10 CDT | 12:10 EDT | 17:10 BST | 18:10 CEST |
Tammy Muff, Associate Director, Information Technology, Laboratory Computing Services, Bristol-Myers Squibb
Stuart Wonfor, Senior End to End Capability Service Manager, AstraZeneca
Vasu Rangadass, President & CEO, L7 Informatics

A Proposal for Lab IT Standards – Collaborative effort by the IT Laboratory Computing COP
Tammy Muff, Associate Director, Information Technology, Laboratory Computing Services Bristol-Myers Squibb
Stuart Wonfor, Senior End to End Capability Service Manager, AstraZeneca

A Journey of Digital Transformation from Research to Manufacturing
Vasu Rangadass, President & CEO, L7 Informatics

The Connected Lab Track: Technology of the Future
The Connected Lab
17:10 BST
Start time: 11:10 CDT | 12:10 EDT | 17:10 BST | 18:10 CEST |
Becky Upton, Consultant, Pistoia Alliance
Martin Winter, Co-Founder, PantaBio
Tomas Foncesca, , LabFolder
Oskari Vinko, Founder & CEO, UniteLabs
Dan DeAlmeida, Director of Product Management, LabVoice
Mark Warne, CEO and Director , DeepMatter Group

Emerging technology fuelling the Lab of the Future – what is on the horizon?
Moderator: Becky Upton, Innovation Lead, Pistoia Alliance

To include:

Mark Warne, CEO & Director, DeepMatter Group

Martin Winter, Co-Founder, PantaBio

Tomas Foncesca, LabFolder

Dan Alemeida, Director of Product Management, LabVoice

18:15
Networking Round Tables
Round Tables
18:15 BST
Start time: 12:15 CDT | 13:15 EDT | 18:15 BST | 19:15 CEST |

Delegates are invited to join moderated working groups on the following subjects. Participants will be able to discuss common problems, share experiences and solutions to different elements of an implementation of the Lab of the Future. A camera-on session, the groups are limited to 15 and reserved on a first-come first-served basis.

18:45
Close of Congress
Plenary Sessions
18:45 BST
Start time: 12:45 CDT | 13:45 EDT | 18:45 BST | 19:45 CEST |